University of Alberta and for other groups and promotes policies aimed at reducing losses by means of disease control, stockyard inspection and swine health programs.

British Columbia. The agriculture ministry comprises five divisions, each designed to serve various requirements of the industry. In addition to its Victoria headquarters, the ministry maintains 19 district offices, one laboratory each for dairy, entomology and veterinary sectors, and testing stations for beef cattle and poultry.

During the fiscal year 1977-78 the ministry intensified several programs aimed at implementation of production cost efficiencies at all levels of the food chain. A significant feature was the introduction of computerized least-cost ration formulations in the dairy and beef industries. Associated with the same objectives was expansion of co-ordinated resource management projects on Crown rangelands and a continuation of several market promotions, a number established in conjunction with a federal program.

## 11.3.2 Agricultural education

All of the provinces of Central and Western Canada have agricultural colleges associated with universities giving undergraduate and postgraduate courses in agricultural science and home economics. Ontario, Quebec and Saskatchewan have degree-granting veterinary colleges. In addition, all of these provinces have agricultural colleges, schools of agriculture or diploma courses offering basic training to young people intending to return to farms or interested in employment in businesses allied with agriculture.

Alberta has three agricultural colleges, Fairview, Olds and Lakeland (Vermilion campus), offering a broad range of diploma programs. Gradual expansion of the module approach in courses has increased and students may enter credit programs at a greater variety of times and locations. Also available are non-credit short courses focusing on specific agricultural activities.

A recently introduced green certificate program provides on-the-job and classroom training for farm hands and farm managers. The program is a joint project of farmers, Alberta government departments of agriculture and advanced education and manpower, the three agricultural colleges and Lethbridge Community College.

Several more unusual college programs such as turfgrass management and floriculture attract students from other provinces. The colleges participate in interprovincial and international agricultural education under exchange and world youth programs, providing orientation sessions and receiving groups from many countries. In recent years the colleges have expanded their curricula to meet both growing manpower needs of the business and industrial sectors and widely diversified interests of rural communities.

A number of public and private colleges in Alberta offer one or two years of university-transfer courses applicable toward degree programs in agriculture and veterinary medicine.

In Saskatchewan, the college of agriculture, college of veterinary medicine, and school of agriculture are all located at the University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon. The colleges of agriculture, veterinary medicine, and home economics are degree-granting institutions providing undergraduate and postgraduate training. The school of agriculture is a two-year diploma course providing basic training for young people wishing to return to farms or seeking employment with related industries. A two-year farm machinery mechanics course is offered at Kelsey Institute, Saskatoon for trainees for the farm machinery service industry.

In Manitoba the major formal agricultural education is centred in the faculty of agriculture, University of Manitoba. The university offers a four-year course leading to a Bachelor of Science in agriculture and a two-year course leading to a diploma in agriculture. The faculty of agriculture also has an extensive program for graduate studies in agricultural sciences.

In Quebec agricultural science is taught at McGill and Laval universities. The education department offers a course in farm management and operation at two CEGEPs, and 15 school boards offer vocational training in agriculture in secondary schools. The Quebec agriculture department also operates two institutes of agricultural technology. The education, research and special services division of the Ontario